'forget your English grammar'

Pretty self-explanatory
johnfoyle

'forget your English grammar'

Post by johnfoyle »

The Irishman's Diary column in today's Irish Times features Elvis . Frank McNally writes -

(extract)

ELVIS COSTELLO shares some of the blame. “Oliver’s Army is here to stay,” he sang a generation ago, in the chorus of one of his catchier numbers. Then, before you could blink, he added:“Oliver’s Army are on their way.” Make up your mind, Elvis, I remember thinking, as I studied grammar for my Leaving Cert English exam.

Even allowing that the army had mounted a major recruitment campaign between the first and second lines, there seemed no -good reason for it to change from a singular entity to a plural one in so short a time.
But it did, thereby penetrating the language’s defences at a weak point. Oliver’s army has/have since poured through the line, sowing confusion in its/their wake. The result, nearly 30 years on, is that nobody seems to know whether anything is single or plural any more. All right, I’m not seriously blaming Elvis Costello. Disregard for the rules of English is a long and honourable radition in rock music. And if he didn’t do it deliberately, he was probably just reflecting a habit that already existed.

sexysadie7

Re: 'forget your English grammar'

Post by sexysadie7 »

Discretionary plurals (from wikipedia)