"Artists are rarely moral heroes and should not be
expected to be, any more than plumbers or dog-breeders
are." This is fairly characteristic Hughes stuff - it
carries the suggestion, both exhilarating and mildly
comic, that there's nothing he'd like more than to
have a bit of a ruck with you.
------------------------------------------------------

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0, ... 85,00.html

So just who does Costello think he is? “I’m an artist.
That’s what I do and it makes you selfish and
self-absorbed and I have absolutely no embarrassment
about that. People say I’m self-indulgent. Well of
course. That’s because I’m an artist.”

Anyone else have thoughts on the this?
LessThanZero

Post by LessThanZero »

JF, Elvis wasn't too happy when Bruce wrote his self-absorbed book. Maybe he's saying Bruce isn't an artist?
Loving this board since before When I Was Cruel.
bobster

Post by bobster »

I think he's talking more about his professional life more than his personal life. (The "selfishness" refers to those who've been tasking him to task for not being political this time around.)

Personally, "self-indulgent" is just a lazy way of saying you don't like something that seems autobiographical or adventurous and its pretty much without meaning.
http://www.forwardtoyesterday.com -- Where "hopelessly dated" is a compliment!
PlaythingOrPet

Post by PlaythingOrPet »

It's not morals, being selfish is survival of the fittest -- pure evolution. Then again ethical egoism is a moral theory, isn't it? :?. Elvis says he's "selfish", "self-absorbed" and "self-indulgent". Of course he is! He doesn't give a shit about what is deemed to be "right" and "wrong" in his line of work, he's always acting in his own interest. My brother-in-law is a moral philosopher at Reading Uni - he'd know what it's all about :lol: .
lapinsjolis

Post by lapinsjolis »